June is Dog Registration Month

Print More
Sophie and Lilly Sawyer, wearing their license tags, are Suffield Residents

Photo by Kathy Dunai

Sophie and Lilly Sawyer, wearing their license tags, are Suffield Residents

Residents are reminded that June is the month to register your dogs.

Connecticut State Law requires all dogs six months of age or older must be licensed in the town of residency. Proof of current rabies vaccination and spaying or neutering, if applicable, must be provided at the time of the application. Rabies tags alone are not an accepted proof of vaccination. After June 30, by law, there will be an additional charge of $1 per month for each month the dog is not licensed.

The yearly dog registration period set by State mandate runs from June 1 through May 31. All fees are set by Connecticut State Statute and are as follows: Dogs who are spayed or neutered $8, dogs who are not spayed or neutered $19.

For the convenience of our residents, renewal reminders have been mailed in May for currently licensed dogs. Payment may be made via cash or check. No credit cards will be accepted.

If you are unable to come to Town Hall, the Town Clerk’s Office also accepts dog license renewals by mail. If the rabies certificate on file is current, please return the renewal form sent to you with payment. If the dog’s rabies certificate has expired since the last renewal period, please forward a copy of the current and active rabies certification so we may update our data. The 2017 license will then be mailed to you. Please enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope.

We continue to honor the tradition of recognizing those service dogs who reside in Suffield by graciously awarding them one of the first ten tags.

For more details, call the office at 860-668-3880 Monday through Thursday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Friday from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Comments are closed.