Suffield Extends 350th Celebration

Print More

The Town of Suffield announces plans to postpone in-person anniversary celebrations for 2020 until Columbus Day Weekend 2021. This includes the 350th Parade. Still scheduled for 2020, the Barn Quilt Trail beginning in late June and into July, and a socially-distanced car parade, fireworks and virtual commemoration slated for October 11-12. Founding sponsor PeoplesBank, continues to act as honorary co-chair for all 2020 and 2021 activities. For details visit

Kacy Colston, Chairwoman of the 350th Anniversary Committee states, “While COVID-19 rained on this year’s parade, it by no means dampened the committee’s resolve to observe this important milestone for our beloved town – this is a great opportunity to continue the celebration for a whole year!”

As part of the virtual commemoration, Our Town makes its debut. The film, commissioned by the 350th, showcases the town’s rich history, natural beauty and tight-knit community. Project Director Caroline d’Otreppe comments, “We are so proud of this film and how it captures the very essence of Suffield – we’re excited to share it with the town.”

Additional commemorative items available for purchase this summer include:

  • Suffield Stories for Another Half-Century, newly released for 350th Anniversary
  • Biography of a Town: Suffield Connecticut 1670-1970, companion volume released for 300th Anniversary
  • 1855 & 1869 historic map reproductions
  • Suffield 350th Cookbook
  • “Doors of Suffield” poster

Planning continues for next October’s 350th Parade under Selectman Pete Hill. Hill looks to rival the outstanding 300th Parade. “We want this parade to be BIG,” states Hill. “We need great ideas, beautiful floats, energetic volunteers and excited participants.” All Suffield groups are invited to participate in the parade. Contact to get involved.

Appointed in 2017 by the Board of Selectmen, the 350th Anniversary Committee assumes both fundraising and planning for the anniversary. In addition to Colston and ex-officio First Selectwoman Melissa M. Mack, members include Beth Chafetz, Cari Cieri, Caroline d’Otreppe, Matt Joyal, Norm Noble, Eric Remington, Art Sikes and Lester Smith. The committee still needs sponsors and volunteers to ensure success. If interested, contact

For questions, please contact the committee at 860-758-0115.

Comments are closed.